banana bread (and banana muffins)

banana bread

Banana bread reminds me of my mom. She’s not a huge baking enthusiast, but when I was little she would bake a loaf of banana bread and wrap it up in tin foil, and I’d open it to find super-moist, delicious, dense banana bread. It’s really more like banana cake.

Here I made a loaf of banana bread and used the rest of the batter to make muffins, some with chocolate chips. I didn’t have sour cream so I subbed plain yogurt. Probably not quite as fatty and tasty, but it certainly does the trick.

banana bread

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread
from Use Real Butter

1/4 cup butter, room temperature
1 1/3 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cups smashed, very ripe bananas
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
1 cup mini chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350F. Cream together butter and sugar. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well. Mix in the bananas. Combine dry ingredients and mix into batter alternately with the sour cream. Add nuts and chips. Mix well. Pour into two greased loaf pans (8×4 inch), or one bundt pan, or 12 bundtlettes (or anything you want, really) and bake for 45 minutes or until top is golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean from the center. (Not wet and gloppy, but moist crumbs are okay). For muffins, more like 20-30 minutes.

One comment

  1. When I look at these gorgeous pics of banana bread, well, my computer keyboard is in danger from my Pavlovian dribbling! Suffice it to say that your banana bread is particularly exquisite looking. Time for me to try this recipe out in (my) one kitchen!

Leave a Comment...

