red velvet cake sucks

I hate red velvet cake. It is just chocolate cake with red food coloring. Really. That’s it. I don’t understand the entire world’s excitement over it, especially when some recipes call for two entire bottles of red food coloring for one cake. Why bother?

Some people say that they prefer the rich cream cheese frosting. Ok, got it – so just make a chocolate cake with cream cheese frosting. There is also the acidic component of the cake that often comes in the form of buttermilk, which I understand can be delicious. But I feel that the cake would be just as wonderful without the fake red color. It reminds me of years ago when ketchup companies tried to make purple and green varieties of ketchup. Not for me.

red velvet cake

I’d rather have my chocolate cake without any Red 40.

4 comments

  1. But Red Velvet is unlike any other flavor! It’s smoother. Richer. Redder.
    I, myself, am a big consumer of Red Velvet, and I believe there is more of a difference than just Red 40. Nonetheless, I find your post humorous and lightly entertaining. I look forward to more of your writing!

    1. You are entitled to your opinion. For me, I agree with author. Honestly, red velvet cake is red food color chocolate sour cream butter cake. It’s pretty repulsive when you break it down to its most basic form.

  2. I agree. I’m sick of the hype. I think it’s the name that gets people. They think they’re eating something gourmet and glamorous.

Leave a Comment...

